Fear No Love

Bob Ostertag

6.8K plays 22K downloads
Released Apr 29, 2010
Plays 6.8K
Downloads 22K
Comments 0
Favorites 1
The songs in this album are licensed under: CC BY-NC Please check individual tracks for their respective licensing info.
Album info

1995 press release from the Avant label:

Avant is proud to announce the release of Bob Ostertag's FEAR NO LOVE. In a radical departure for the composer, winner of a 1995 NEA
Composers Fellowship for contemporary music, FEAR NO LOVE features
fierce groove-based dance songs. This is funk, but warped through a
sensibility honed in fifteen years at the forefront of the avant-garde.

Ostertag has assembled an unlikely and dazzling group of
collaborators for FEAR NO LOVE, from rock star Mike Patton (Faith No
More) to British guitar pioneer Fred Frith to underground luminaries of
San Francisco's queer scene. Vocalists include Lynn Breedlove of the
scandalous hard-core dyke band Tribe 8; legendary chanteuse and
performance diva Justin Bond; Raz Kennedy of Bobbie McFerrin's Voicestra
and session superman with Kenny Loggins and many others; and Christian
Huygen of the pop trio Absolut Manpussy.

FEAR NO LOVE is a disc that pushes all the limits. Almost every
track defines its own genre. "The Man in the Blue Slip" is a
dance/industrial/gender-fuk/domination-submission love duet. "Not Your
Girl" goes in a new-jack-swing/R&B/talking-blues direction. And
"Positive", an HIV+/ambient/techno/soul tour de force, may be the first
true love ballad of the age of AIDS.

Ostertag's previous work has ranged from All the Rage, written
for the Kronos Quartet and premiered at Lincoln Center, to his
ground-breaking outside jazz ensemble Say No More, to his solo
recordings and collaborations with John Zorn and Fred Frith. FEAR NO LOVE explores even newer terrain. With sharp and edgy queer lyrics, a
wide-ranging pop eclecticism, and fierce grooves, FEAR NO LOVE will
shake up the dance floor -- and more.

FEAR NO LOVE: Bob Ostertag (sampler, MIDI instruments,

digital manipulation, words), Joey Blake (vocal), Justin

Bond (vocal), Lynn Breedlove (vocal), Chris Brown (sampler),

Trevor Dunn (bass), Fred Frith (guitar, bass), Jim Hedges

(guitar), Philip Horvitz (vocal), Christian Huygen (vocal,

words), Andrea Lewis (vocal), Raz Kennedy (vocal), Sara

Miles (words), Mike Patton (vocal), JD Reilly (keyboard),

Annie Toone (harmonica), Richie Waits (vocal), & William

Winant (percussion).