Music Community Tribe of Noise Acquired Free Music Archive. Follow @freemusicarchiv for updates.

You came this way: Home > dUAS sEMIcOLCHEIAS iNVERTIDAS

 dUAS sEMIcOLCHEIAS iNVERTIDAS (3 Albums, 20 Tracks)


  • Boris
  • Desmarques
  • X
  • Trigueiros
  • Gee Bees
  • Roller Mars
  • Flapi
  • soRRisoeMeio
  • O Gémeo
  • Buga das Coubz
It's hard to understand how a band that was born in an incidental and improvised way, baptized first with a symbol and later with a strange and unpronounceable name, which line-up has always been in constant change and that possesses such an odd sound, has managed to survive until now.
In fact, it doesn't cease to surprise that dUASsEMIcOLCHEIASiNVERTIDAS still exists and that they continue not to  take themselves too seriously.In almost five years of intense and frantic activity, during which they inscribed a unique path between the margins and between the lines of the Portuguese musical scene, dSCi have self-released two EPs (“I” in 2008 and “II” in 2009) and a tape through the label A Giant Fern (“SADITREVNiSAIEHCLOcIMEsSAUd“ in 2010), participated in many compilations, made four European tours and played around 200 concerts in the most diverse situations and venues (including bars, clubs, squats, associations, auditoriums, festivals, demonstrations, benefits, squares, wastelands, tents, laundries, factories, shopping centres, convents, parks, theatres, cinemas, bookstores, restaurants, attics, basements, kitchens, etc.)In the midst of all this they still found time to organize dozens of events with Portuguese and international acts through the Associação Terapêutica do Ruído (dSCi's siamese twin which is dedicated to promoting DIY concerts and more recently to publishing and distributing records) and also to form other side projects such as: Gan Gan Gan (with the Portuguese poet Tiago Gomes), PPCM (with the American pianist Thollem Mcdonas), the dj collective Kafunfo noSoundsystem, Cena 28 or the Orquestra do Ruído.Now they are about to release their first LP in a partnership between Associação Terapêutica do Ruído ,the Portuguese labels A Giant Fern and Experimentáculo and the Italian labels Another Shame, Eclectic Polpo, Fooltribe and Human Feather.The album will be published on vinyl in an exclusive and limited edition, but will be later reissued digitally by the Portuguese net label Enough Records for free download, as has happened with rest of the group's discography.Entitled “4”, not only because it's their fourth recording, but also due to its numerological significance and as kind of tribute to mythical albums in the history of rock like Led Zeppelin's “IV”, Black Sabbath's “Vol. 4” or Beyoncé's “4”, the record is divided in two very different sides which embody the two most distinctive features of the band: in side A there are six structured tracks and in side B a long improvisation, recorded live on studio with seven members of the collective (including two drums, two saxophones and a juggler/performer).The artwork, remotely inspired by Rorschach's psychological tests, consists of 4 different covers created by Mariana M. and 4 inlays made by 4 invited/guest artists: Bárbara Assis Pacheco, Carlos Batalha, Katafu e Lucas Almeida.The recordings took place in 4 days during Lisbon's scorching summer in Garden Studios, which had also been the setting for the first rehearsals of the group, and were conducted by the wise hands of the master António Gil, assisted by Carlos “Ramón”, and the experienced ears of the friend and accomplice João Buga, who patiently mixed and edited them in dSCi's present rehearsal room, under the watchful supervision of the collective.Finally the tapes were mastered by maestro Milo Gomberoff in the studios La Pausa de la Mirada in Barcelona, where the EP “II” had previously been recorded.A new tour will see the band going around Europe in 80 days, startingin the end of March, ending by mid-June and passing through 17 countries.