Music Community Tribe of Noise Acquired Free Music Archive. Follow @freemusicarchiv for updates.

You came this way: Home > The Barracudas

 The Barracudas (1 Albums, 8 Tracks)


LOCATION:London, England
  • Dan Collins - bass
  • Ken McLaurin - guitar
  • John Sproull - drums
  • Jeremy Gluck - vocals
The Barracudas are an English based Anglo-Canadian band formed in the late 1970s. The band's original lineup consisted of: Jeremy Gluck (vocals), Robin Wills (guitar and vocals), David Buckley (bass and vocals) and Nick Turner (drums). They are notable for their summer 1980 hit single "Summer Fun", which started with
an excerpt from a spoof 1960s advertisement for the Plymouth Barracuda, in which one of the announcers has difficulty pronouncing the word barracuda. The single reached number 37 in the UK Singles Chart Originally perceived as a novelty surf act due to the first album, subsequent recordings showed them to be a fierce garage rock and roll band, in the mold of the 13th Floor Elevators and The Seeds. The band split in 1984, but reformed in 1989 to record "Wait For Everything", and then again in 2005 for the self titled album on NDN. Throughout their career their live performances have been energetic and frenetic. From: