You came this way: Home > Sláinte

 Sláinte (3 Albums, 31 Tracks)


LOCATION:Tacoma, Washington, USA
  • Jeff Bremer
  • Lawson Dumbeck
  • Kent Hooper
  • Jean Huskamp
  • Anthea Lawrence
  • Bob McCaffery-Lent
  • Brynn Starr
Sláinte (slawn-cha), Gaelic for "cheers" or "good health", was an Irish band based out of Tacoma, Washington in the USA. They began performing in the summer of 1995. The original name for the group was Puget Sounds, as the players had been participants in a jam session at the University of Puget Sound. The original lineup had players whose ages spanned 35 years.The band soon changed its name to Sláinte to emphasize its focus on traditional Irish works and to reflect the band's desire to play enjoyable, spirited music.Sláinte was an early success in Internet music sharing. They were one
of the most downloaded artists on the original, which was then a major site for free and legal music downloads.After the end of Sláinte, Lawrence and Dumbeck performed as Fiddlehead. Huskamp has continued to play in a number of bands. Bremer played with The Burren Boys. Starr, McCaffery-Lent, and Hooper performed as Bobryken Celtic, an abbreviation of their names Bob, Brynn, and Kent. In 2007, that group gained four more players and were renamed to Mooncoyne.