Music Community Tribe of Noise Acquired Free Music Archive. Follow @freemusicarchiv for updates.

You came this way: Home > Brasstronaut

 Brasstronaut (1 Albums, 0 Tracks)


LOCATION:Vancouver, BC. Canada
  • Bryan Davies Flugel horn, Trumpet player
  • Edo Van Breemen Vocals, Piano, Synth
  • John Walsh Electric and Acoustic Bass
  • Brennan Saul Drums and percussion
  • Sam Davidson Clarinet, Electronic Wind Instrument
  • Tariq Hussain Electric Guitar, Acoustic Guitar, Lap Steel
Since emerging in 2008 with their debut Old World Lies EP, the Vancouver based sextet has moved away from what might have been a comfort-zone in creating purely cinematic or melodramatic music, into deeper channels that has seen the band making dramatic leaps over the past three years. This trend
was made apparent with the 2010 release of their widely praised debut LP, Mt. Chimaera. At a fundamental level Brasstronaut are good friends who find inspiration and cohesion through the seeming disparity of their individual influences. Their ability to weave unexpected textures of clarinet, slide-guitar, trumpet, noise, synthesizers, voice and rhythms into cohesive songs has garnered them international acclaim from notable critics such as Gilles Peterson, BBC1, CBC Radio3, Exclaim!, Q Magazine, Toronto Star, to name a few. Other achievements include winning the 2010 Socan Echo Prize, a Polaris Prize nomination, a #1 Hype Machine listing, and also having completed a creative residency program at the Banff Centre for the Performing Arts. The UK's Independent newspaper has even called the band's sound "a new way forward". Apart from extensive North American touring, Brasstronaut is heading overseas for their third European tour in the fall of 2011. Having already played to sell-out audiences at festivals like Iceland Airwaves and the The Great Escape, they are set to make appearances at Reeperbahn, Vienna Waves, and Incubate Festival, along with regular scheduled show dates in Switzerland, Croatia, Italy, Austria, Germany, Slovakia, England, and the Netherlands. They are currently recording their second full-length record with Colin Steward (Black Mountain, Cave Singers, etc.) for release in spring of 2012.


Other Links