You came this way: Home > Unthunk > Coin

Coin by Unthunk

Album Description

Released:August 5th, 2018

A coin has two sides, as does this collection of pieces.

In the midst of building pieces based on “the unaccommodated man”, an intriguing phrase from King Lear*, I changed tack to work on the the music for a make-believe suicide cult with a friend. When the latter activity petered out, I was left with a handful of serviceable pieces from each initiative.

The “unaccommodated man” pieces are internally-directed. They spring from a state whereby the character has flung aside the cloak of civility and faces solitude in the wilderness.

The suicide cult pieces are based on the premise that the Order of Eternal Tranquility founder, Brother Dvi, has recruited a subject – christened Reverend Terrapin – to write ceremonial music to serve the religion. The resulting pieces are thus explicitly social and practical – diametrically opposed to the “unaccommodated” set.

For more information on the album go to

Words and music by Trevor Tunnacliffe, unless otherwise credited.


LJ Mounteney – vocals Carman J Price – vocals Audrey Chandler, Calla Kra-Caskey, Eva Melin-Gompper and Emma Powell – vocals Lisa Jensen – oboe Christiaan Venter – clarinet Holly Bryan – horn Finn Manniche – guitars, cello Nina Horvath – keys Rebecca Tunnacliffe – keys Trevor Tunnacliffe – basses, guitars Buff Allen – drums, percussion




01. Recruiting (02:52)
04. Black star (05:02)
05. Baptism (06:03)
07. Smulkin (02:55)
08. Old knight (05:40)
09. Vertebrae (04:46)
10. Hovel (02:44)
11. Home (05:34)

Coin by Unthunk is licensed under a Attribution-NonCommercial License.
So far 0 comments about this album. Add your 10 cents!


There are no comments for this page, but feel free to be the first!
log in to post comments