You came this way: Home > DannyKS > Blog > Update on FMA Bugs

DannyKS (FMA Admin)

Mini Profile

REGISTERED:12/07/2018
COMMENTS POSTED:21
MIXES CREATED:0
AFFILIATIONS:---
Danny_KitSplit on 04/30/2019 at 09:42AM

Update on FMA Bugs

Thank you all for your continued patience while we work through some issues that have been found on FMA recently.

We’re aware of the bug users have ben having while attempting to stream or download music, contacting artists, uploading music and a few other site functions–we are working to fix those! We understand the frustration many of you have with these functions not working, and have appreciate your feedback. We will keep the FMA community updated as things change. 

For now, we have a few short-term solutions to the most common issues:

 

- Can not log in to FMA: Try logging in using your FMA username, instead of your email address–that usually fixes the problem. If logging in still does not work, try again in a few minutes.

- Approved artist that can not upload music: get in touch and we will help on a case by case basis contact@freemusicarchive.org (Please be aware that we’re answering help tickets as quickly as we can, and we will respond to your personal request in the order it was received)

- Contact artist not working: get in touch and we will try to help on a case by case basis— contact@freemusicarchive.org

- Downloads/steaming not functioning: On occasion downloads/streamings have stopped working. This is almost always temporary. Try again in a few minutes.

 

If there is another site issue we should be aware of, please let us know in the comments below!

Hope these tips are helpful and thanks for your patience (and keeping us apprised of any issues) as we work towards longer-term solutions.

 

Thanks and best,

Danny

Share
TAGGED AS:
fma

Comments

01
Stephan Siebert on 04/30/19 at 03:46PM
thank You for keeping up FMA! st
02
derekclegg on 05/04/19 at 11:07AM
Hi Danny, thanks for looking into these issues! The download and streams not working seem to be much worse than down for 10 minutes and back up . For instance this week downloads and streams have mostly not worked. Add to that logging in is usually down in conjunction as I wanted to comment on this earlier but could log in for days. I thought you should know and appreciate the work and communication on this. Best
03
Cota303 on 05/05/19 at 04:50AM
Hello. I can not upload cover art to this album. It just skips to all albums list when I hit edit.
https://freemusicarchive.org/music/trannye_agodi/Issledovaniya/
04
Sandsofa Studios on 05/06/19 at 03:33PM
Hi Danny thank you for your engagement. I've testing partial during the complete weekend an no song was playable.
Today also.
Maybe there is some temp cache on the server which you have to clear?
I remember the former FMA Team did onetime the week some server routine processes?
Maybe you have to kill some old running .js scripts on the server?
10 years ago I had to administrate a little bit a ELearning server was programmed in Java Serverpages "JS".
My job there was only to reboot the server sometims and kill some js running scripts ... they don't stopped fore themselves ...
so during a week ... more and more scripts are running ... and often the server stopps completley it's functions.
I saw in the codeing the FMA is running with some .js ... now I remembering this problems.
Hope it will help you, and you find someone who can handle with .js bugs.
Lobo
05
podbear on 05/06/19 at 07:58PM
Perhaps the most worrying thing is that there are not more comments within a week of this post. Maybe it's because most people can't log in. Maybe it's because users have given up hope that KitSplit is up to the task of fixing and sustaining FMA. It's been five months since the transition. The bugs persist and the core services of the site are not functioning reliably, if at all. I don't know what it's going to take for you to rise to the challenge, but I hope you can!
06
bgTeacher on 05/13/19 at 01:31AM
Still cannot play nor download :(
07
HannahScribit on 05/16/19 at 11:58PM
Downloads, streaming, and logging in seem to be running again, at least on my end. Thanks so much for the hard work I'm sure went into fixing everything!
08
Fleslit on 05/17/19 at 03:21AM
Glad to see everything working again!
09
scripul on 05/18/19 at 06:14PM
So glad to see things working again! Thank you all on the KitSplit team for your hard work!
10
Nul Tiel on 05/19/19 at 05:39PM
Please can you tell me if there is a upload limit for the track file sizes? Some of my tunes are uploading whilst others aren't!
11
Fleslit on 05/19/19 at 07:21PM
NulTiel I believe the upload file size limit is 8MB. Also, you may have to upload the same file multiple times until it works. It’s annoying but it works. Cheers!

- Yung Kartz
log in to post comments