You came this way: Home > New Weird Australia > Blog > New Canberra Compilation

New Weird Australia : Eclectic & experimental Australian Music.

About New Weird Australia

New Weird Australia
newweirdaustralia on 11/17/2010 at 10:50AM

New Canberra Compilation

Earlier this year, we alluded to a departure in format in our free compilation series of eclectic and experimental Australian music. 

Up until now, the series has effectively been a snapshot in time of new, weird Australian music, dropping once every two months.  Over nine compilation albums, we faithfully represented that broad and loose concept, however the time has come to sharpen our focus.  The series will now morph into more structured compilation releases – structured either by genre, geography or theme, or structured by the guiding hand of a guest curator.

The first of such releases scores on two counts – ‘The Sound Of Young Canberra‘ is the first release to be selected by a guest curator, in this case the double-header combination of Shoeb Ahmad (hellosQuare) and Tim Guthrie (Dream Damage). It is also the first compilation to focus exclusively on one geographical area, and what better place to start than our oft-scorned nation’s capital.

Together, Shoeb & Tim have been a beacon for new Canberra music  – via Shoeb’s label and tireless commitment to live events, and Tim’s outstanding blog, where many Canberra artist receive their first online editorial.  This new collaboration between that pair is a wild and truly eclectic mix of styles; some familiar, some entirely new; some residents, some expartiates – featuring Pollen Trio, Teddy Trouble, Spartak, Jonny Telafone, From The South, Readymen, Reuben Ingall, Danger Beach, Shoeb Ahmad, Assassins 88, Kasha and Bum Creek.

The 12-track compilation is available for FREE download from the Free Music Archive at:

Sample three of the tracks below:



There are no comments for this page, but feel free to be the first!
log in to post comments